Carrie Nelson

Member for
6 years · 7 months · 21 days
Find A Grave ID


I'm a 54 year old wife married 34 yrs, Mom to 4 girls (ages 17-33) and Busha (Polish for grandma usually spelled babcia) to 5 awesome grandchildren 4 girls and a boy. I was baptized into the LDS (Mormon) church in 1981 and a few of years after that I really found a love of genealogy. I have been doing my genealogy for over 32 years! I served a mission for the LDS church as a support person for I have a relatively small family. My Mom and her sister both had only 2 children. My Busha had only 2.

My husband though, is far different, being one of 10 and his dad being one of 14! He is the 3rd generation family sexton of Grand View Cemetery. Note: I will be making sure ALL of the known graves in Grand View Cemetery are listed with pictures of all grave markers. Any questions for that cemetery can be directed to me at my email address below or by messaging me here on Find-A-Grave. I can dig into my husband's records for the cemetery anytime and will give my phone number via email. There was poor record keeping prior to about 1970. Then 1970-2003 when my husband's uncle was sexton there was better but not great records. We changed that as I am a tech geek and my husband really wanted solid records so he compiled & we computerized the records.

My husband's family was the 2nd one to settle here after the logging companies. I have traced a couple of my family lines back to the 1600's. I have helped many people that have family from here in Drummond and Grand View (previously called Pratt) area as we have their centennial books that have school census', pictures and stories of many of the settlers and logging companies. These are a WEALTH of knowledge. I once looked up a person's family and sent her scanned pictures with who were the people in the photo of her relatives. Turned out she had the original picture but didn't know the people in it! Her ancestors were on the baseball team in 1900! This is also why I also belong to Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness (RAOGK).

I grew up from age 4 to adult in Hayward Wisconsin so I'm familiar with that area. My stepmom still lives in my childhood home on the Namekagon River there. I love helping others not just find their relatives but learning about their ancestor's life.

I have lived in Drummond WI for the past 20 years and have fulfilled requests in about a 60 mile radius from here. I've done some even 90 miles away and in Madeline Island in Lake Superior.

If you see something you want changed, added, or edited let me know. Please ask for a transfer if you wish to add info that isn't available to me or if you want to manage a family member's memorial.

Search memorial contributions by Carrie Nelson