Alexandra Ripley

Alexandra Ripley

Charleston, Charleston County, South Carolina, USA
Death 10 Jan 2004 (aged 70)
Richmond, Richmond City, Virginia, USA
Burial Cremated, Ashes given to family or friend
Memorial ID 8328540 · View Source
Suggest Edits

Author. Best remembered as the author of the 1991 book "Scarlett," the officially sanctioned sequel to "Gone With the Wind" which was universally panned by critics but sold over million of copies. The book was made into a 1994 TV miniseries. Alexandra was authorized by two of Margaret Mitchell's nephews to write the novel, even though Mitchell had opposed the altering of any of her novels. "Scarlett" was released on September 25, 1991. Her first novel published in 1972 under the pseudonym B.K. Ripley, was "Who's That Lady in the Preseident's Bed." Her third book "Charleston" was the first of a popular series of fiction historical novels. Which included "From Fields of Gold" and "A Love Divine."

Bio by: Noni

Family Members



See more Ripley memorials in:


How famous was Alexandra Ripley?

Current rating:

40 votes

to cast your vote.

  • Maintained by: Find A Grave
  • Originally Created by: Noni
  • Added: 27 Jan 2004
  • Find A Grave Memorial 8328540
  • Find A Grave, database and images ( : accessed ), memorial page for Alexandra Ripley (8 Jan 1934–10 Jan 2004), Find A Grave Memorial no. 8328540, ; Maintained by Find A Grave Cremated, Ashes given to family or friend.