The Photo Request has been fulfilled.

Suggest Edits
 Anya Seton

Photo added by Anthony S

Anya Seton

  • Birth 23 Jan 1904 New York, New York County (Manhattan), New York, USA
  • Death 8 Nov 1990 Greenwich, Fairfield County, Connecticut, USA
  • Burial Greenwich, Fairfield County, Connecticut, USA
  • Memorial ID 7316283

Author. She began her writing career by selling short stories to newspapers and magazines. She went on to write ten best-selling historical and biographical novels: My Theodosia (1941), Dragonwyck (1944), The Turquoise (1946), The Hearth and Eagle (1948), Foxfire (1951), Katherine (1954), The Winthrop Woman (1958), Devil Water (1962), Avalon (1965), Green Darkness (1973). Two of these were made into Hollywood movies: Dragonwyck in 1946, starring Gene Tierney and Vincent Price, and Foxfire in 1955, starring Jane Russell. She also wrote three books for the Young Adult audience: The Mistletoe and Sword (1955), Washington Irving (1960), and Smouldering Fires (1975).

Bio by: Eddie

Family Members





How famous was Anya Seton?

Current rating:

22 votes

to cast your vote.

  • Maintained by: Find A Grave
  • Added: 31 Mar 2003
  • Find A Grave Memorial 7316283
  • Find A Grave, database and images ( : accessed ), memorial page for Anya Seton (23 Jan 1904–8 Nov 1990), Find A Grave Memorial no. 7316283, citing Putnam Cemetery, Greenwich, Fairfield County, Connecticut, USA ; Maintained by Find A Grave .