Sidney Coe Howard

Sidney Coe Howard

Oakland, Alameda County, California, USA
Death 23 Aug 1939 (aged 48)
Tyringham, Berkshire County, Massachusetts, USA
Burial Tyringham, Berkshire County, Massachusetts, USA
Memorial ID 7254501 · View Source
Suggest Edits

Motion Picture Screenwriter. He won the Pulitzer Prize for the drama "They Knew What They Wanted" and in 1939 he won an Academy Award for Best Screenplay for "Gone With The Wind" (1939). His other credits include, "The Prisoner of Zenda" (1937), "Dodsworth" (1936), "Christopher Bean" (1933), "The Greeks Had A Name for Them" (1932), "One Heavenly Night" (1931), "Condemned" (1929), "Bulldog Drummond" (1929), "Ned McCobb's Daughter" (1928), and "The Secret Hour" (1928).

Family Members



Here lies the body of
who was born in
Oakland, California
on June 26th 1891
and died in Tyringham
on August 23rd 1939



How famous was Sidney Coe Howard?

Current rating:

53 votes

to cast your vote.

  • Maintained by: Find a Grave
  • Added: 11 Mar 2003
  • Find a Grave Memorial 7254501
  • Find a Grave, database and images ( : accessed ), memorial page for Sidney Coe Howard (26 Jun 1891–23 Aug 1939), Find a Grave Memorial no. 7254501, citing Tyringham Cemetery, Tyringham, Berkshire County, Massachusetts, USA ; Maintained by Find A Grave .