Howard Hanson

Photo added by Neil Funkhouser

Howard Hanson

Wahoo, Saunders County, Nebraska, USA
Death 26 Feb 1981 (aged 84)
New York, New York County (Manhattan), New York, USA
Burial Cremated, Ashes scattered
Memorial ID 6842737 View Source
Suggest Edits

Composer, Conductor, Educator. His Symphony No. 4 ("Requiem"), written in memory of his father, won the 1944 Pulitzer Prize. Although he was a vigorous champion of American composers there is little American influence in his own music, which was conservative in style and romantic in spirit. Hanson's other major compositions include the Symphony No. 1 ("Nordic," 1923), Symphony No. 2 ("Romantic," 1930), Symphony No. 3 (1937), Symphony No. 5 ("Sinfonia Sacra," 1955), the cantatas "The Lament for Beowulf" (1925) and "Hymn to the Pioneers" (1938), and an opera, "Merry Mount" (1934). Hanson was born in Wahoo, Nebraska, of Swedish parents, and studied at the Institute of Musical Art in New York City and at Northwestern University. From 1924 to 1964 he was director of the Eastman School in Rochester, New York, and in 1925 founded the annual American Composers' Concerts, which brought much new music to the public. As conductor of the Eastman Rochester Orchestra, Hanson made many recordings and took the group on a world tour in 1961.

Bio by: Bobb Edwards


In their memory
Plant Memorial Trees


See more Hanson memorials in:


How famous was Howard Hanson?

Current rating:

33 votes

to cast your vote.

  • Maintained by: Find a Grave
  • Added: 9 Oct 2002
  • Find a Grave Memorial 6842737
  • Find a Grave, database and images ( : accessed ), memorial page for Howard Hanson (28 Oct 1896–26 Feb 1981), Find a Grave Memorial ID 6842737, ; Maintained by Find a Grave Cremated, Ashes scattered.