Dr Floyd Carr Wren

Photo added by Bonnie Sisson Manning

Dr Floyd Carr Wren

Webster Parish, Louisiana, USA
Death 9 Feb 1967 (aged 87)
Winnfield, Winn Parish, Louisiana, USA
Burial Winnfield, Winn Parish, Louisiana, USA
Memorial ID 25613536 View Source
Suggest Edits

Funeral services for Dr. Floyd Carr Wren, prominent retired dentist and civic leader, were held at 3 p.m. Friday in the First Methodist Church of Winnfield with the Rev. Richard Walton, pastor, officiating. He was assisted by Rev. Fred Flurry, Sr., and the Rev. R. H. Staples, former pastors.

Burial was in the Old Winnfield Cemetery under direction of Hixson Brothers Funeral Home.

Dr. Wren died at 12:20 p.m. Thursday, February 9, 1967, in a Winnfield hospital following an apparent heart attack. He was 87.

A native of Webster Parish, Dr. Wren received his degree in dentistry from Vanderbilt University, and first located in Jonesboro, where he served as Mayor while also practicing dentistry.

He came to Winnfield in 1916 when he became a part of the religious and civic life in the community being active until the time of his death.

He practiced dentistry until his retirement in 1945. At one time during his career he experienced an arthritic condition and operated a Winnfield dairy until his recovery.

Dr. Wren was Winn Parish registrar of voters from 1940 to 1948, and served as chairman of the Red Cross for 12 years. He was also active in the Salvation Army and other civic movements and was honored by the Winnfield Jaycees and Woodmen of the World for his vigorous activities as a senior citizen.

A charter member of the Winnfield Rotary Club, Dr. Wren also served on the City Council and was a member of the local school board in the early years.

He served as Sunday School superintendent for 30 years and was a retired steward of the church.

Survivors included his wife, Mrs. Leta O. Wren; a daughter, Mrs. Thomas H. (Margaret) Harrel, Sr. of Winnfield, and two grandsons, Thomas Harrel, Jr., and George Harrel, all of Winnfield.

Active pallbearers were Dudley Shell, Dennis Shell, Denton Shell, Jim Russell, Jr., Newton Forrest, and J. W. Wroten.

Honorary pallbearers were Fred R. Flurry, J. G. Russell, Sr., James W. Collins, R. E. Dietzel, B. W. Floyd, John R. McElwee, Sye Varnell, J. D. Holmes, Jr., Don Walsh, Troy Lynn Smith, Marvin Carraway, Daniel Smith, Malcolm Collins, Jesse Bridges, W. J. Austin, E. J. Iverstine, J. R. Enright, Percy Roberts, Jr., W. L. Kirkpatrick, Shirley Jackson, Breard Carpenter, E. H. Farr, George Larson, W. V. Hall, Paul Hursey, Asa Martin, M. T. Crowe, W. B. Stewart, Robert E. Butler, Morris L. Crawford, John Glynn Jackson, Carroll Hatcher, Frank Shaw, Jr., Roland Rogers, William S. Walker, Richard Heard, George Tannehill, B. H. Killen, Jesse O. Anders, Pete Starks, Tracy Lee Harrel, Jr., Hiram Wright, Ray Jenkins, and Ranel Brady, Jr.

Published in The Winn Parish Enterprise News-American, February 16, 1967

Family Members


Sponsored by Ancestry