Oskar Werner

Oskar Werner

Vienna, Wien Stadt, Vienna (Wien), Austria
Death 23 Oct 1984 (aged 61)
Marburg, Landkreis Marburg-Biedenkopf, Hessen, Germany
Burial Triesen, Triesen, Liechtenstein
Memorial ID 15819338 · View Source
Suggest Edits

Actor. Born as Oskar Josef Bschließmayer in Vienna, he made his acting debut at 18 and appeared in over 100 stage plays for the Burgtheater and the Akademietheater. In films he is probably best remembered for his role in Francois Truffaut's "Fahrenheit 451" (1966). Werner's other screen credits include "The Angel with the Trumpet" (1950), "The Wonder Kid" (1951), "Decision Before Dawn" (1951), "Der Letzte Akt" (1955), "Lola Montès" (1955), "Jules et Jim" (1962), "Ship of Fools" (1965), "The Spy Who Came in from the Cold" (1965), "The Shoes of the Fisherman" (1968), and "The Voyage of the Damned" (1976), his last film. He died in Marburg an der Lahn, Germany, from a heart attack.

Bio by: José L Bernabé Tronchoni

Family Members




How famous was Oskar Werner?

Current rating:

97 votes

to cast your vote.

  • Maintained by: Find a Grave
  • Originally Created by: José L Bernabé Tronchoni
  • Added: 19 Sep 2006
  • Find a Grave Memorial 15819338
  • Find a Grave, database and images (https://www.findagrave.com : accessed ), memorial page for Oskar Werner (13 Nov 1922–23 Oct 1984), Find a Grave Memorial no. 15819338, citing Triesen Cemetery, Triesen, Triesen, Liechtenstein ; Maintained by Find A Grave .