Jaume Pahissa

Photo added by Errete

Jaume Pahissa

Barcelona, Provincia de Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain
Death 27 Oct 1969 (aged 89)
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Burial Buenos Aires, Ciudad Autónoma de Buenos Aires, Capital Federal, Argentina
Memorial ID 14684423 · View Source
Suggest Edits

Composer. He was born in Barcelona, Catalunya, Spain. He studied with the musician Enric Morera. At the age of 25, he released his first composition "Trio en Sol." Pahissa developed a prolific career between Spain and Argentina, where he was forced into exile during Spanish Civil War. Among his works are "La Presó de Lleida," "El Combat," "Sinfonía a les Costes Mediterrànies," "Canigó," "Seis Pequeñas Fugas a dos Voces para Piano," "La Morisca," "Simfonieta," "Marianela," "Suite Intertonal," "Margarida," "Cantata en la Tumba de García Lorca" and "El Camí." In Argentina, he became the conductor of the Buenos Aires Municipal Orchestra. Pahissa also wrote a biography of composer Manuel de Falla and his work "Nocturn" was dedicated for his friend, cellist Pablo Casals.

Bio by: José L Bernabé Tronchoni


In their memory
Plant Memorial Trees



How famous was Jaume Pahissa?

Current rating:

20 votes

to cast your vote.

  • Maintained by: Find a Grave
  • Originally Created by: José L Bernabé Tronchoni
  • Added: 22 Jun 2006
  • Find a Grave Memorial 14684423
  • Find a Grave, database and images (https://www.findagrave.com : accessed ), memorial page for Jaume Pahissa (6 Oct 1880–27 Oct 1969), Find a Grave Memorial no. 14684423, citing Cementerio de la Chacarita, Buenos Aires, Ciudad Autónoma de Buenos Aires, Capital Federal, Argentina ; Maintained by Find A Grave .