Mary Webb

Original Name Mary Gladys Meredith
Leighton, Shropshire Unitary Authority, Shropshire, England
Death 8 Oct 1927 (aged 46)
St Leonards, Hastings Borough, East Sussex, England
Burial Shrewsbury, Shropshire Unitary Authority, Shropshire, England
Memorial ID 10298952 · View Source
Suggest Edits

Author. A novelist who set most of her stories in her native Shropshire in England, she became successful for her romantic works. The six novels she published during her lifetime were "The Golden Arrow" (1916), "Gone to Earth" (1917), "The Spring of Joy; a little book of healing" (1917), "The House in Dormer Forest" (1920). "Seven For A Secret; a love story" (1922), and "Precious Bane" (1924). After her passing in 1927 seven books containing her poems and short stories were posthumously published.


Planning a visit to Shrewsbury Cemetery?



How famous was Mary Webb?

Current rating:

33 votes

to cast your vote.

  • Maintained by: Find A Grave
  • Originally Created by: José L Bernabé Tronchoni
  • Added: 9 Jan 2005
  • Find A Grave Memorial 10298952
  • Find A Grave, database and images ( : accessed ), memorial page for Mary Webb (25 Mar 1881–8 Oct 1927), Find A Grave Memorial no. 10298952, citing Shrewsbury Cemetery, Shrewsbury, Shropshire Unitary Authority, Shropshire, England ; Maintained by Find A Grave .