Ballyroan Church of the Holy Spirit

Photo added by newtownbarry

Ballyroan Church of the Holy Spirit

Marian Road, Dublin 14
Rathfarnham, County Dublin, D14 KP60 Ireland Add to Map
Memorials 3 added

Search Ballyroan Church of the Holy Spirit:

In 1968 the Roman Catholic Parish of Ballyroan, Rathfarnham, Dublin was constituted from the ancient Parish of Rathfarnham and the parish church was dedicated to the Holy Spirit as The Church of the Holy Spirit.

The first sod was turned on the site on 10 October 1964 by Canon Tom O’Donnell, P.P. of Rathfarnham, Dublin The building costs including furnishings, but excluding site cost and seating, was contracted out at IR£125,000.

The new church building was solemnly blessed and opened by the Archbishop of Dublin, Most Rev Dr John Charles McQuaid, C. S. Sp. (1895 - 1973) on the first Sunday of Advent, 3 December 1967.

The church’s architect was Raymond McDonnell, B Arch, MISAI. The building contractor was Laurence Murray & Sons.

The modern crucifix behind the High Altar was created by Imogen Stuart (b. 1927). The stained glass windows that incorporate the Stations of the Cross life size were designed by John Murphy.

Internally, there are two murals by Seán Keating (1889 - 1977) and externally a bronze symbol of the Holy Spirit surmounts the main entrance doors.

Canon Tom O’Donnell, PP of Rathfarnham became the first parish priest of Ballyroan.

The church building itself has the traditional cruciform plan but the constructional expression is completely modern.

In the grounds of the church is the burial place of Very Rev Fr Christopher Kenny (d. 1996) who was Roman Catholic Parish Priest of Ballyraoan Parish from 1980 to 1996; in addition, although not buried there, there are memorials to two other priests who served Ballyroan Parish.

  • Added: 24 Jun 2016
  • Find A Grave Cemetery: #2616188