Itasca Calvary Cemetery

Photo added by Carron B.

Itasca Calvary Cemetery

1608 E. Highway 169
Grand Rapids, Itasca County, Minnesota, 55744 USA
Memorials 10,318 added (79% photographed)


The Itasca Cemetery Association formed in March of 1896 and assumed the care of Itasca Cemetery. The original plot map consisted of Divisions A, B, C, and D.

James McGlorick, Bishop of the Catholic Diocese of Duluth, Minn., originally owned Calvary Cemetery. The plot map for Calvary Cemetery also consisted of Divisions A, B, C, and D. In April of 1961, Grand Rapids Township assumed the care of Itasca Cemetery. With need for expansion, the Township added divisions E, F, and G. Then, in 1975, Grand Rapids Township gained ownership of Calvary Cemetery. At this time, the two cemeteries became known as The Itasca Calvary Cemetery. The Orderly Annexation between the City of Grand Rapids and the Township of Grand Rapids resulted in the ownership of Itasca Calvary Cemetery transferring to The City of Grand Rapids in 2010.

There are now 11 divisions in the cemetery -- the original Calvary divisions of A, B, C, and D, plus those of Itasca’s A, B, C, D, E, F, and G. The choice of grave sites is now pretty much ecumenical, Catholics and Protestants might very well wind up neighbors.

The beautiful Vet’s cemetery features 305 headstones in division G.

From an article in the Grand Rapids Herald Review by John W. Otis, used with permission.


This cemetery currently has no photos.

Add Photos


GPS Coordinates: 47.2371700, -93.4988200

  • Added: 10 Jan 2002
  • Find A Grave Cemetery: #1023193