Begin New Search
Refine Last Search
Cemetery Lookup
Add Burial Records
Help with Find A Grave

Top Contributors
Success Stories
Community Forums
Find A Grave Store

Log In
Photo of Salem Cemetery
Salem Cemetery, Astoria, Astoria Twp, Fulton Co, IL.

[Fulton County was created on January 28, 1823 (Laws, 1823, p. 88) and was formed from Pike County. Present area, or parts of it, formerly included in: Madison County (18121821), Pike County (18211823) and St. Clair County (17951812). The County was named for Robert Fulton, the first successful builder of steamboats on American waters. The County Seat is Lewistown (1823-Present). Originally Fulton Courthouse; changed to Lewistown on March 14, 1831. Counties adjacent to Fulton County are Knox County (north), Peoria County (northeast), Tazewell County (east), Mason County (south), Schuyler County (southwest), McDonough County (west), Warren County (northwest). Fulton County Townships include Astoria, Banner (Name changed from Utica to Monterey on November 11, 1850 and from Monterey to Banner), Bernadotte, Buckhart, Canton, Cass, Deerfield, Ellisville, Fairview, Farmers, Farmington, Harris, Isabel, Joshua, Kerton, Lee, Lewistown, Liverpool, Orion, Pleasant, Putman (Name changed from Center on November 11, 1850), Union, Vermont, Waterford, Woodland (Name changed from LaFayette on November 11, 1850), Young Hickory (Name changed from Hickory on November 11, 1850). Townships, Cities, Towns, and communities include: Astoria, Avon, Banner, Bryant, Canton, Cuba, Dunfermline, Ellisville, Fairview, Farmington, Ipava, Lewistown, Liverpool, London Mills, Marietta, Norris, Smithfield, St. David, Table Grove, Vermont.]

Added by: Memories From The Mist

Privacy Statement and Terms of Service