Begin New Search
Refine Last Search
Cemetery Lookup
Add Burial Records
Help with Find A Grave

Find all Mowats in:
 • Saint Mark's Anglican Church Cemetery
 • Port Hope
 • Northumberland County
 • Ontario
 • Find A Grave

Top Contributors
Success Stories
Community Forums
Find A Grave Store

Log In
Farley Mowat
Birth: May 12, 1921
Hastings County
Ontario, Canada
Death: May 6, 2014
Port Hope
Northumberland County
Ontario, Canada

Author, Environmentalist. A prolific writer, he is probably best remembered for his books on the Canadian north, such as "People of the Deer" (1952) and "Never Cry Wolf" (1963), the latter dealing with his experiences with wolves in the Arctic, and is credited with shifting the mythology and fear of wolves. It was made into a film of the same name that was released in 1983, starring actor Brian Dennehy. Born Farley McGill Mowat, he lived with his family in Richmond Hill, Ontario and in the 1930s they moved to Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, where he began writing about birds in a column for the Saskatoon Star-Phoenix newspaper. During this time he also wrote his own nature newsletter called Nature Lore. He was commissioned a 2nd lieutenant during World War II, participating in the Allied invasion of Sicily and Italy with the 1st Canadian Infantry Division, and moved with his unit to northwest Europe in 1945, where he served as an intelligence agent. He was discharged at the conclusion of World War Ii as a captain and he returned to Canada to attend the University of Toronto. His first book, "People of the Deer" (1952), was inspired by a field trip to the Canadian Arctic he made while studying at the University of Toronto and it turned him into a controversial, popular figure. His next book, "Lost in the Barrens" (1956, a children's book), won him a Governor General's Award. His other works include "The Grey Seas Under" (1958), "Owls in the Family" (1960), "The Black Joke" (1963), "Westviking: The Ancient Norse in Greenland and North America" (1965), "The Curse of the Viking Grave" (1966), "The Boat Who Wouldn't Float' (1969), "And No Birds Sang' (1979), "Sea of Slaughter' (1984), "Virunga: The Passion of Dian Fossey" (1987), "Woman in the Mists" (1987), "The Farfarers" (1998), No Man's River" (2004), and "Bay of Spirits" (2006). In 1981 he was made an Officer of the Order of Canada. He also received the Canadian Centennial Medal (1967), the Queen Elizabeth II Silver (1977), Golden (2002), and Diamond (2012) Jubilee Medals. In August 1996 the Sea Shepherd Conservation Society ship RV Farley Mowat was named in his honor. In 2005 he received the first and only Life-time Achievement Award from the National Outdoor Book Award and in 2010 he received a star on Canada's Walk of Fame. He died at the age of 92, less than one week shy of his 93rd birthday. (bio by: William Bjornstad) 
Saint Mark's Anglican Church Cemetery
Port Hope
Northumberland County
Ontario, Canada
Maintained by: Find A Grave
Originally Created by: William Bjornstad
Record added: May 09, 2014
Find A Grave Memorial# 129488723
Farley Mowat
Added by: William Bjornstad
Farley Mowat
Added by: William Bjornstad
Photos may be scaled.
Click on image for full size.

- sjm
 Added: May. 12, 2015

- David Wend
 Added: May. 12, 2015
On your 94th birthday
- Nancy Forrest
 Added: May. 11, 2015
There are 50 more notes not showing...
Click here to view all notes...
Do you have a photo to add? Click here
How famous was this person?
Current ranking for this person: (4.0 after 46 votes)

Privacy Statement and Terms of Service